Tuesday – Mummy

I like Tuesday. I always look forward to Tuesday. It’s the day of the week where I get to spend the whole day with Perky by myself. Pinky goes to nursery for the day, we kept her going even whilst I’m off work so she still has a place when I return. I enjoy making the most of these days, Pinky had me all to herself for a year, so Perky deserves her one day. I try not to make too many plans, try not to have too many ‘errands’ to run. Tuesday is reserved for playtime, naps, food and smiles. Our cuddles are uninterrupted and her smiles are savoured.

I need Tuesday and I’m going to miss it when I return to work. I need the chance to relax a little whilst Perky naps. I need a day without tantrums, without trying to think of constant distractions or negotiations, and a day without ‘Mummy’ being the word of the day.

I miss Pinky though. I miss her energy, her laugh. By the end of the day so does Perky. Now she is 6 months old she is really absorbing the world around her. She watches her sister run around all day and I can see how much she tries to reach out and follow her. As much as I love Tuesdays my favourite part is the end of the day when Daddy brings Pinky home. I get to hear about everything she has done at nursery, all the playing and painting. Sometimes they even bake biscuits and cakes and she looks so proud of herself as she tries to tell me all about it. The best thing about home time is the smiles that the girls give each other. The love in their eyes and the excitement on their faces when they see each other is indescribable. Even today the first thing Pinky asked me when she got into the house is where her sister was to say hello. She gave Perky a huge cuddle and kiss on the head.

I like to think that because Pinky has had a day away and missed me that she will be lovely on Wednedays. A happy and bouncy two year old for the day that is a joy to play with. Maybe we will all go the park because she has been so delightful. However, I’m pretty certain that, as per usual, this idea will have been shattered by Todzilla at least three times before 9am.

Never mind…. There’s always tomorrow to start again.

Published by

Winnettes

A Mummy to Ellie (4) and Trixie (2), blogging about Family, our Lifestyle & Baking. I am completely Pinterest and Instagram obsessed. Currently finding my feet as a new school mum and staying alive courtesy of coffee.

Leave a Reply

