The Birthday Weekend exceeded all expectations. Hubby did well on an epic scale!

A nice relaxed morning of getting the girls ready and droppig them off at their Grandparents for the night, then straight to the train station and up to Waterloo.  We had lunch at Wagamamas ont he Southbank.  I enjoy Wagas even more now as we rarely get to go. As child friendly as they are the girls would generally prefer pasta or burgers.  From there we got in a taxi and headed to Claridges! Claridges! Seriously! What an amazing surprise. Hubby and I like to go up to London every now and again if we can. We try and stay up there in a hotel, often booked via Hotwire to have a surprise within my obsessive organisation. Every time we go up we somehow find ourselves walking past Claridges. It’s not exactly on the main strip but it happens overtime, and overtime we both comment on how much we would like to stay there one day. So for my 30th i guess it was fitting. Thank you Hubby what a fabulous choice.

We received the warmest of welcomes from every single staff member we came into contact with. At check-in they had upgraded our room to a one bedroom suite which was absolutely divine. In the main bar we were given a welcome drink of Champagne with some cheese straws and nuts. After lunch I was quite full but the cheese straws just melted int he mouth so i couldn’t stop myself from eating most of them (twice as we went back for a drink after shopping). I had booked Hubby in for a wet shave in the afternoon. He loves them but never thinks to organise it before we go to London so this time I though I would. He came out looking like a different person. The shave was so smooth and they even did his hair for him making it look so thick and full.

From there we went to Selfridges. One of my favourite places. I hit the MAC counter (I have had this obsession for some time now). Then off to pick my birthday present. I had asked for shoes so instead of buying some for me and risking getting the wrong size as they all seem to fit slightly differently.  I chose a pair of Sophia Websters Evangeline Sandles. I loved these the moment i first saw them weeks ago on Instagram. I occasionally have dreams about shoes, shoes that don’t exist or at least that I have never seen before. These are similar to ones I’ve dreamt about so I had to own them at some point in my lifetime. I already have a wedding and a race day at Ascot I plan to wear them to.

Back in the room the staff had left a little cake with a candle and a birthday card. It was such a lovely touch. I never got to eat the cake…. I was so full I kept forgetting about it.

For dinner we ate at the Foyer restaurant at Claridges followed by a cocktail in the bar. The food and drink was amazing. I have a huge sweet tooth so the fig carpaccio with white chocolate mousse was a true highlight.

To top it all off it snowed. Ok so only a light fluttering in London but there was a little on the ground at home. It hasn’t snowed on my actual birthday since the day I was born.

In the morning we had breakfast in our room before checking out. Breakfast was as special as everything else had been. Any where I go I test out the pancakes and at Claridges they did not disappoint.

It was back to reality with a bump as we arrived home to two little girls wanting all our attention.

The break was greatly needed and it will go down as the best birthday ever. I was throughly spoilt and enjoyed every moment. Now to finish planning the joint party I am having for my 30th and Perkys 1stIMG_1785IMG_1793IMG_1805

Posted by Winnettes

A Mummy to two little girls blogging about Parenting and Food with some other little snippets of life along the way. The adventures of Pinky & Perky make me laugh and cry in equal measure.

One Comment

  1. […] want this year to be less of a rollercoaster. We had some huge highs last year; we stayed at Claridge’s for my birthday for example. But with those huge highs came huge […]

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

