Over the past few years what I consider to be ‘date nights’ have been fairly few and far between. I understand that this is somewhat inevitable once you have kids but it does grate on me. Then the other week I realised that that wasn’t a fair outlook on the time Hubby and I spend together. We actually spend quite a lot of quality time together and although we may not get to go out for dinner once a month as we would like to that doesn’t mean we don’t have ‘date nights’. So since September is our special month I though it was a good time to reevaluate what I consider to be some of our dates both out of the house, having utilised a babysitting token with the ‘in laws’, and stay at home dates. Plus I’ve thrown in some ideas that we haven’t done yet but we have discussed in the past.

Baby-sitter dates:  

  • .Dinner at a restaurant with cocktails pre or post romantic meal. Candles are a bonus. I’m currently a huge fan of Japanese cuisine.
  • G.o karting. Not the most romantic of dates but loads of fun. Plus a bit of ‘healthy’ competition.
  • Pub quiz. I struggle with this as a date but I love a pub quiz and since kids we just don’t get to do them. We went to one a couple of weeks ago and it was really good fun.
  • A night in a hotel, maybe even a really swanky one! My fav! I love a good hotel, I’ve stayed in quite a few over the last few years so now I think I’m a connoisseur (I am not!)
  • A night time haunted tour. I like the idea of this but in reality I don’t think I would sleep for a week afterwards.
  • A museum or art gallery trip. I’m not sure Hubby would go for this one. Maybe the Imperial War Museum, or Churchills War Rooms could persuade him.
  • We’re going to the zoo zoo zoo. I fecking love the zoo!!!!
  • Boating on the river. Very wind in the willows. Probably not in reality.
  • Day at a Theme Park or one of their special fright nights over hallowe’en.
  • A picnic. Very romantic! Just beware when you set up the picnic blanket and don’t almost put it on top of the dog shit left by an irresponsible owner. I nearly did this the other week…. It would likely ruin the mood.
  • Visit a local farmers/craft market.
  • Spa day. Maybe even enjoy a couples massage in the interest of spending time together. I like this idea in theory but I’m 99% certain I’d be bored after an hour.
  • Cinema trip. The end of December through January is ‘Oscar Season’ which is when a vast majority of the best films are released in the cinema. This is an added bonus as I would rather be in a cinema in the winter months than the summer ones.

Staying-in Dates:

  • A takeaway with a bottle of nice wine. I’m a wine snob and not hugely proud of it…. So it has to be nice wine!
  • Turn the TV off and play a game. We enjoy scrabble or a few card games. Recently we’ve even managed to calm some of the competitiveness.
  • Light some candles, put some cushions on the floor and talk, maybe plan the next holiday. Again wine and a takeaway helps.
  • Make a home cooked meal together. Add dessert. Add wine. Again… Good wine only please. On these evenings I go out and buy an expensive cut of beef, Hubby cooks it whilst I sort the trimmings.
  • Movie night. We don’t get to go the cinema these days. Fortunately this isn’t really a problem anymore as most films get released fairly quickly from cinema. We have Apple TV so I use my iTunes to rent a movie at home. Plus a bag of microwave butterkist popcorn 😋😋😋😋😋.

I’m sure there are other ideas I have missed.

I’m open to further suggestions……?

 

Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
This Mum's Life

Posted by Winnettes

A Mummy to two little girls blogging about Parenting and Food with some other little snippets of life along the way. The adventures of Pinky & Perky make me laugh and cry in equal measure.

9 Comments

  1. Some lovely ideas though we wouldn’t manage many in one month! Hope you have fun #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. No I’m not sure we would get too many done in one month. Certainly hoping to appreciate simply sitting with a glass of wine and talking more.

      Like

      Reply

  2. Lovely ideas. I’m gonna note down some of these #eatsleepblogrt

    Like

    Reply

  3. It’s so nice to spend quality time together, date nights often get forgotten when children arrive! Love the idea of a game night.

    #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  4. Great ideas! Me and the hubby don’t get to go out much due to his working hours. The at home ideas are great. I’d never get bored with a spa day but my hubby would. #KCACOLS

    Like

    Reply

  5. I love these ideas, Hubby and I don’t get many times without the littles so I’m always keen to hear suggestions of at home dates and these are all lovely. Thank you for sharing with #bigpinklink x

    Like

    Reply

  6. Lovely ideas, I particularly like the idea of a couples spa day, but not sure if my other half would go for it! Might have to look into that one. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS, hope you can come back again Sunday after next x

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  7. A great idea to do a nighttime walk – i went on a couple of London Walks before having the children and found it so interesting and fun, but never did it with my husband… you have planted a seed there… Thank you!
    x alice
    #kcacols

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Yes I’m very keen on that idea too!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

