What I want my Daughters to know

As days pass by and I see my daughters develop into their own independent little ladies, I often wonder what sort of women they will become. This isn’t something I particularly worry about. Perhaps I should. I don’t mind what jobs they have, I don’t mind if they go to university or not. Their happiness is the most important thing. Along the way I hope they learn, or I can teach these few things….

Be strong minded but not hard hearted. It is important to know what you want and to have the courage to go and get it for yourself. Accompany this with a warm heart and an ability to empathise with others and you will go far and be loved.

Have an opinion. Base this opinion on facts not hear say. Not everything you read or hear will be true. Don’t jump to conclusions. Be prepared to debate. Be prepared to have your opinion changed. Remain open minded. You won’t always be right, be gracious in defeat and always admit when you were wrong.

If you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all. If asked for an opinion then yes, voice it. Sometimes, however, a question wasn’t asked, a debate wasn’t started. In this instance, if it is too hard to find something nice to say then just don’t say anything.

Ambition is important. What the ambition is isn’t overly relevant. Having ambition itself is what matters as it gives you drive and focus. You can do anything you set your minds to it. Hard work goes a long way.

Be organised. This can be hard to do at times. It is important to stay organised in both thoughts and process. Sometimes things happen in life that knock your confidence, don’t let these things get in the way.

Trust your own instincts. We are all individuals and because of this we will each take different paths in life. We will all enjoy and dislike different things. As they say ‘it takes all sorts to make the world go round’. Only you will know what is right for you. Trust you know the answer.

Stand up for what you believe in. Trust me no one else will.

Stand up for others. Not everyone is strong, and sometimes even strong people have their strength taken away from them. Don’t stand and watch people be bullied or have their confidence sucked from them. Stand up for what you know is right and give others a voice when they have lost theirs. Someday you may need them to return the favour.

Value yourself. There will be a lot of people that come and go throughout life, sadly many of them will try to take advantage of you. If you let them they will keep doing it. Know your worth and value it! Don’t let anyone walk all over you.

Be decisive and be determined. Don’t be afraid to make mistakes but learn from them.

Learn from other people’s mistakes and not just your own. This is hard to do but pay attention. There is no need to replicate someone else’s mistake.

Believe in karma. Trust me… What goes around come around.

Love freely. Those who love the most are loved the most.

Most importantly…

Be happy! Do what brings you joy. Be with people that make you happy, surround yourself with the good in the world. Happiness comes from within.

imageimageimage

This Mum's Life
Cuddle Fairy
Dear Bear and Beany
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Diary of An Imperfect Mum

Published by

Winnettes

A Mummy to Ellie (4) and Trixie (2), blogging about Family, our Lifestyle & Baking. I am completely Pinterest and Instagram obsessed. Currently finding my feet as a new school mum and staying alive courtesy of coffee.

40 thoughts on “What I want my Daughters to know”

  1. This is absolutely beautiful, and all so perfect! I want exactly the same for my children, although I haven’t yet been able to articulate it as well as you’ve done here. I loved it all, but I especially loved ‘be prepared to have your opinion changed. Remain open minded. You won’t always be right, be gracious in defeat and always admit when you were wrong.’ For me, there is something really special about someone who can see every side of an argument, and listen to a debate with the possibility that they might change their minds. Standing up for others is also so important. So many will stand on the sidelines and turn a blind eye-I really hope my children won’t do this. I’m sure, with a fabulous mummy like you to guide them, your children will turn out perfectly. x
    #bigpinklink

    Liked by 1 person

  2. This is just beautiful. I wish I was half as articulate in pinpointing what I want for my children as they grow up! I love the point about having an opinion but remaining open minded. But primarily your last point is what I hope for above all – to keep that joy in everything they do, to surround themselves with people that make them happy, and who they make happy in return. #BloggerClubUK

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this and I agree with all of them! No matter what life throws at them, it sounds like you’re setting them up for success. And they are loved, which is giving them the best start in life, full stop. I love seeing your gorgeous girls together and I hope they’ll always love each other as they do now.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This is such a great post, my favourite is if you can’t say anything nice don’t say anything at all. So important for kids growing up with social media as the norm #sharingthebloglove

    Like

  5. Oh that’s the most perfect advice for all children. I only hope I can pass those on to my child as he’s growing up…and that being happy is most important #sharingthebloglove

    Like

  6. Oh my goodness this is the sweetest thing. will you share this post with them? It is so wonderful. I would also like to tell my little one to not get stressed. Will it matter in fve years time? Then it isn’t worth losing sleep over now. #sharingthebloglove

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I think you got it all spot on in here! Some great values in my opinion. I was about to select a few as favourites, but actually, I like them all. They are all important to me! If you raise them with those value, then, job done! Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. These are great things that I would want my daughter to know too! I totally agree with you that being happy is the most important thing! #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Loved this post, so true, and so important. I think the conversations we have with our kids every day, the little lessons and opinions sink in and when you hear them ‘doing the right thing’ so to speak, it is the best feeling. Thanks for sharing Xx #kcacols

    Like

Leave a Reply

