KidloLand App: Review

We are a hugely technology orientated family. I don’t worry as much as others do about the amount of ‘screen time’ the girls have and although they can often be found sitting colouring with pen and paper they also do it on an iPad. It is hard to avoid the fact that their generation are being born into a world that relies heavily on technology. Instead of shying away from it we are embracing it. So when we were asked to review the KidloLand app I was over the moon.

I have tried various free educational apps in the past but their content has been limited and the girls quickly get bored. KidloLand is very different. Initial impressions were good, it is very colourful and simple to navigate, even Perky who is currently 20 months old could scroll through the menus and select what she wanted.

The app is aimed at ages 0-5 and there are so many options for all ages groups within that. The nursery rhymes and lullabies a a firm favourite for both Pinky and Perky.

Pinky enjoys doing all the puzzles and after minimal instruction from me she was completing them all by herself. Before I knew it half an hour had past and I hadn’t heard a peep from her. The activities can be repeated as many times as the girls like.

The phonics is a brilliant section for all of us. I know that Pinky gets taught phonics at preschool but it something that I’ve never fully understood. With this app I can listen along and help her if she needs it. This also means Perky is being exposed to phonics earlier than Pinky was so hopefully it will help her speech and pronunciation.

We are all thoroughly enjoying the KidloLand app. The graphics are brilliant and colourful. Various figures and objects move when touched in all the song and lullaby sections (Pinky and Perky found this particularly amusing when they discovered a mouse that pops out of a bowl of popcorn during ‘hickory dickory dock’). It keeps the girls occupied for a very long time and so far they have been happy to share the iPad and play together. It is very educational covering phonics, reading, numbers, days of the week, months of the year and much more.

Pinky has been developing her hand eye coordination with this app and has had to use her own logic working out to match colours and shapes to complete puzzles.

We haven’t even scratched the surface of all the content and the girls are hooked! I don’t think the girls will ever exhaust the content so they get bored with it.  There is so much to learn and do.

When I got the iPad out earlier, whilst Perky was having a nap, Pinkys face lit up with excitement. It was a choice between playing on the KidloLand app or watching Paw Patrol…. she chose the app!

Says it all really….

This Giveaway has now ended.

The app is available on:

IOS  Android and Google Play Store

Disclaimer: We were offered a 6 month free subscription in return for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are our own.

Cuddle Fairy
Diary of An Imperfect Mum
Dear Bear and Beany
The Pramshed

Published by

Winnettes

A Mummy to Ellie (4) and Trixie (2), blogging about Family, our Lifestyle & Baking. I am completely Pinterest and Instagram obsessed. Currently finding my feet as a new school mum and staying alive courtesy of coffee.

13 thoughts on “KidloLand App: Review”

  1. We have this app too, but the limited version. My little one just seems to go on the same song, replying the same part, in the same little section in the same little caterpillar every single time without fail #bloggersclubuk

    Like

  2. Sounds great! I love a good educational app, my eldest has been learning phonics from the alphablocks section of the cbeebies app and i’m blown away when he is able to spell a word by himself on there! He’s not even at school for anther year but these apps are so useful! #sharingthebloglove

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Alice doesn’t really play with the iPad or apps. But a few months ago we were asked to review this app and to begin with I was going to say no. But then I thought it might be good to see what its like and how she got on. I was really impressed with it and she loves it. She has learnt so much from it and it is great to have when she needs some quiet time. Thank you for joining us at #SharingtheBlogLove x

    Like

  4. Gosh, anything that keeps them occupied for 30 minutes solid sounds pretty amazing to me! I have to admit that I don’t understand phonics either, so I think I’m going to need to get to grips with them soon. We’ve not tried any apps yet, but I know they’d be right up Max’s street – he loves anything computers! Thanks so much for joining us again at #SharingtheBlogLove

    Like

  5. HI,

    this is actually a really good idea. Before I became a mother I had grand ambitions of limiting screen time, but now that I am a mother, and a single mother in fact, I know that it just isn’t possible to get ready for working in the morning without the ipad babysitter for 20 mins. Cbeebies has been my default, but this is a good alternative. Pen x #KCACOLS

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

