Sunshine Blogger Award

The other day I was very excited to receive a tweet from Claire at The Pramshed to do the Sunshine Bloggers Award.  Although not an actual award it is a lovely way to learn more about the bloggers who complete it.  I have followed Claire on twitter for some time now and I love her blog.  I was very excited when she appeared in instagram! Go follow her if you don’t already.

Claire has asked me 10 questions and I will nominate five blogger in return to answer 10 questions I think of.

What is your favourite TV program and why?  

This changes from time to time.  Currently I am watching both season 5 and 6 of American Horror Story.  But I think may all time favourite would be Gilmore Girls.  It’s a little more light hearted to say the least.  I love it because it is just so sweet without being sickly.  I love their relationship and can relate to both Lorelei and Rory on different levels.  I am embarrassingly excited for the new series being released soon.

How would you spend your ideal Saturday night?

This is actually a very difficult question.  I quite like staying in just me and Hubby with a bottle of wine.  But if I could choose…. I would spend it with Hubby in London.  We would go out for a nice dinner (I mean really nice), followed by cocktails at Quaglinos which is our favourite place and we would stay at a nice hotel.

Tell us about the best holiday you’ve been on and why?

My best holiday would have to be last September.  We went to Sani resort in Greece.  It was for mine and Hubbys 30th birthdays.  We saved up for a long time for it and it was worth every penny.  We managed t get a good deal because we booked so far in advance and got a huge two bedroom suite in the hotel, overlooking the pool and beach.  There was waiter service at the pool and on the beach.  We didn’t lift a finger for two weeks.  Everyone working there was so friendly and they loved Pinky and Perky.  The kids club was brilliant too.  Pinky enjoyed it so much she asked to go more…. We happily obliged and booked them both more sessions.  I would go back in a heartbeat!

Why did you start blogging?

I actually started a really long time ago but struggled to find my voice.  I started because I missed writing.  I used to really love writing when I was younger and as early as I can remember I had ideas for books to write.  I would very sporadically blog and then one day I just woke up with all these ideas and started to take it really seriously.  I also decided to blog about my baking and that was where I really found my confidence.  It’s something I love doing.

What are you blog successes (for you) since you’ve started your blog?

This is hard… I’m not really sure.  I don’t tend to look at the stats too much or number of comments, I only check every now and again to make sure the readership isn’t shrinking at the very least.  I think the biggest success is probably finding my voice again.  I got really shy and timid after I had the girls, I lost a lot of confidence in myself which I tried to hide.  I was much happier staying in and not seeing anyone.  Blogging has changed all that and if nothing else I like to get out of the house to try and get the perfect pictures for the latest blog post.

What would be your dream holiday if money were no object?

But I think my ideal holiday is a road trip of America.  I would start on the East Coast somewhere in Maine for the lobster and I would work my way all the way around to Seattle.  I want to see, Boston, New York, DC, Disney World (obviously to anyone who knows me, Beaty and the Beast is on in the back ground as I write this).  I have family in Texas so I would stop there.  LA of course, and San Fran, then Seattle.  But that would miss out Chicago so maybe we would then have to go east again along the Canadian border.  And I’ve missed Kansas City…. Hmmmmm this would take a lot of planning.

What is your favourite book and why?

I haven’t read properly in years, I only really manage it on holiday.  I think the best book I have ever read is probably ‘Shadow in the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafron.  It’s quite dark in places but it had me hooked.  I can’t say anymore without ruining it.  This is the synopsis on Amazon:

Hidden in the heart of the old city of Barcelona is the ‘cemetery of lost books’, a labyrinthine library of obscure and forgotten titles that have long gone out of print. To this library, a man brings his 10-year-old son Daniel one cold morning in 1945. Daniel is allowed to choose one book from the shelves and pulls out ‘La Sombra del Viento’ by Julian Carax.But as he grows up, several people seem inordinately interested in his find. Then, one night, as he is wandering the old streets once more, Daniel is approached by a figure who reminds him of a character from La Sombra del Viento, a character who turns out to be the devil. This man is tracking down every last copy of Carax’s work in order to burn them. What begins as a case of literary curiosity turns into a race to find out the truth behind the life and death of Julian Carax and to save those he left behind. A page-turning exploration of obsession in literature and love, and the places that obsession can lead.

What’s your favourite Christmas TV advert?

The coke advert. It isn’t Christmas until I have seen that Red Lorry!

Who are your three favourite bloggers?

Well with so many good bloggers to choose from this is a tough choice.

Over Heaven’s Hill.  Geraldine does a lovely series on her blog ‘in conversation with’ in which she interviews other bloggers.  It’s always a lovely read as is the rest of her work.

Tooting Mama.  I am loving reading about her and her family adventures in Paris.  She writes so beautiful about adoption too.

Five Little Doves.  Laura has a lovely way of writing and she takes beautiful pictures of her children.  Their individual personalities really jump out from the photo.

How do you keep yourself motivated to keep your blog up and running?

Currently I have a lot of motivation to do it.  As a SAHM it’s my little window to the outside world sometimes.  I need to reign myself in often as the main time I have to do it all is in the evenings and that isn’t fair on Hubby who is also in need of adult conversation that isn’t work related.  It is my main outlet for ideas so I find the motivation is automatically there.

I hope you have all enjoyed reading this.  It’s a little snippet into the inner workings of my head.  Feel free to ask me more questions.  I’m always happy to answer them.

In the interest of carrying on the tradition I am nominating the following Bloggers:

  1. Ruth from Top Five Mum
  2. Lizzie from Firstooth
  3. Cheryl from Tea or Wine
  4. Taryn from 3 Little Ladies and Me
  5. Claire Elizabeth from A Life In Practice

These are your questions:

  1. What is your favourite film?
  2. What is your ideal job? If you didn’t have to worry about qualifications or anything.
  3. If you had to move (zombie apocalypse or something) where in the world would you want to live?
  4. What is your favourite blog post you have written so far and why?
  5. What is your first memory?
  6. Did you enjoy school?
  7. What is your greatest achievement to date? Other than beautiful children.
  8. What is the hardest and the best part of being a parent?
  9. Ghosts… real or not?
  10. What is your favourite season in the year and why?

Please let me know when you have answered and I will happily retweet.  Thank you Claire for nominating me… This was my first tag like this and I really enjoyed doing it.

Kirsty

X

Mudpie Fridays
The Pramshed

Published by

Winnettes

A Mummy to Ellie (4) and Trixie (2), blogging about Family, our Lifestyle & Baking. I am completely Pinterest and Instagram obsessed. Currently finding my feet as a new school mum and staying alive courtesy of coffee.

19 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award”

  1. Oooh this is such a lovely idea and thank you so much for nominating me! The thing I love most about blogging is the whole social side of it that I wasn’t expecting. Like stumbling across you on Instagram, starting up some lovely conversations and then following each other’s blogs (although yours is much more polished with a LOT more posts than mine!) I’ve loved reading more about you here and can’t wait to answer your fun questions! Watch this space! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww what lovely things to say! It has been really lovely to connect with fellow blogger/parents like yourself. I wasn’t expecting it either. I look forward to reading your answers xx

      Like

  2. Lovely to find out more about you! You’ve also set some fab questions for the others. Can’t wait to read Taryn’s as I met her a few weeks ago – she’s super lovely. x Sunita #fortheloveofBLOG

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No sadly not! We’ve been so busy in our house from about July with various things I completely forgot about it until it was too late. Have a great time! I’m hoping to go to the next one xx

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks so much for answering my questions, it’s great to be able to find out more about you. I love America Horror Story too, I didn’t realise that there were so many more episodes, I might check it out on Netflix. It’s also lovely to find out why you started blogging, you have a great writing style, and I’m glad that blogging has helped you to find your confidence with writing again. The blogging community is so helpful and supportive when it comes to it, and I hope you stick with it. Thanks for linking up at #fortheloveofBLOG. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

