A couple of weeks ago a friend suggested gin and elderflower macarons to me.  I got very excited about the idea and after a little thought and consideration I decided the best way to do this would me to put a little jelly in the middle.  This is what I decided to make.  Naturally it made far too much for one batch of macaron so I made some individual dessert portions.  Naturally Hubby and I struggled through and ate them.

Ingredients:

3x Gelatine leaf

125g Caster sugar

80ml Gin

150ml Tonic water

3 limes

Method: 

  1. Put the gelatine leaves in a bowl with some water until they are just covered.  Leave these to soak for 15 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, put the sugar in a saucepan with 200mls of water and bring to the boil whilst stirring.
  3. Once this has boiled for about 5-10 minutes it should be nice a syrupy.  Put this to one side to cool for a few minutes.
  4. Stir in the gin, tonic and juice of 3 limes to the syrup.
  5. Decant into a jug to make it easier to pour and remove any froth.
  6. Pour into individual glasses and put into the fridge to set, at least over night is best.

Serve with a lime wedge or zest.

Next time I am going to layer the jellies, one gin and tonic and one lime.  This should jazz up its appearance and hopefully mellow the strength of the gin.

I used Tanqueray Gin for this jelly because although it has a high alcohol content it has a more delicate gin flavour than some of the cheaper brands.  Its all down to personal taste so if you prefer another brand then use that.

Look how clear it was….!

img_5487

Posted by Winnettes

A Mummy to two little girls blogging about Parenting and Food with some other little snippets of life along the way. The adventures of Pinky & Perky make me laugh and cry in equal measure.

2 Comments

  1. […] Next up, after a suggestion from another friend, I made Gin and Elderflower Macarons.  This time they were grey macarons filled with an elderflower buttercream and a gin and tonic jelly. […]

    Like

    Reply

  2. Wow, I love the sound of these jellies! You’ve just opened up a whole new world of possibility for me 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

