Salted Caramel Fudge

Each weekend I can’t resist doing a little baking. Sometimes I will even bake mid-week. Depending on our plans will depend on what I make, if we are in the house all weekend I will bake something that takes a little longer to complete such as macarons or iced biscuits. On weekends that we are out or generally busy I will make something that doesn’t take much time at all. This weekend I decided to make fudge. I have never made fudge before but I knew what ingredients I needed and I knew the theory behind it all. I also knew it should only take about 10-15 minutes to make. Having decided to make Salted Caramel Fudge I found a recipe online, I naturally decided I didn’t like the recipe and made it my own way… It worked so here is what I did:

Ingredients:

1x 397g tin of Condensed Milk (Full Fat)

200g Dark Brown Sugar

100g White Chocolate

125g Lightly Salted Butter

4 tbsp. Golden Syrup

Handful of Sea Salt Flakes

Method:

  1. Prepare a baking tray with greaseproof paper
  2. Place all of the ingredients in a saucepan over a medium to low heat.
  3. Gently bring to the boil stirring continuously; ensuring all of the sugar has dissolved.
  4. Reduce to a simmer and continue to stir for 3-5 minutes or until the mixture has begun to thicken.
  5. Remove from the heat stir in the chocolate until completely melted.
  6. Pour into the baking tray.
  7. Sprinkle with the salt flakes and push lightly into the fudge mixture using a spatula or spoon so it doesn’t fall off when cooled (please be careful at this point, sugar burns are horrific). Leave to cool.
  8. Once cooled, cover with clingfilm and place in the fridge for 4 hours or overnight if possible.
  9. Cut into equal square sizes and serve (ideally with tea or coffee…Yummy!)

It is important to keep stirring so the sugar doesn’t burn on the bottom of the pan. Don’t worry of that does happen, it will simply add a slightly bitter undertone which won’t detract from the over all finished product because of the sweet/salty nature of this fudge. Just go slow, keep the heat low and you can always increase it if needed.

I used my square brownie tin to make the squares but any baking tray with sides would do. I was desperate to use my new silicon moulds so I also made some fudge shapes (hearts, shells and stars). It was quite difficult getting the hot fudge mix into the moulds but it was worth the effort. They look super cute (the salt is on the bottom in this instance).

I made these while the girls ate their dinner. It took about 15 minutes in total (not including cooling time), if you heat the fudge mix slower than I did it may take a little while longer, but hopefully not much.

Let me know if you make these and how you get on.

Happy Baking

X

3 Little Buttons
Mummy in a Tutu

Published by

Winnettes

A Mummy to Ellie (4) and Trixie (2), blogging about Family, our Lifestyle & Baking. I am completely Pinterest and Instagram obsessed. Currently finding my feet as a new school mum and staying alive courtesy of coffee.

26 thoughts on “Salted Caramel Fudge”

      1. My teeth start to ache as soon as I open the tin now, I have eaten so much fudge this week! I think giving it away is advised or my dentist will be able to buy his Holiday Home in St. Lucia that he wants (I suspect I don’t really know my dentist that well) X

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love fudge and salted caramel so a perfect match for me! I’m going to try slow cooker fudge because my oven is broken…and I’d like to try and do some Christmasy flavours too! #dreamteam

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooooooooo my FiL loves fudge so this would make a lovely homemade little extra from my girls at Christmas – and they will really enjoy making it, thank you for sharing
    #FoodieFriday

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

