Winter Cocktails

Winter is approaching fast and the temperature is certainly dropping. Each year my Mother in Law hosts Christmas for us and she always asks for some cocktail inspiration. Normally we have a Snowball for our Christmas Day cocktail but this year we are going to be trying something different… I’m just not sure what yet. As the weather is getting colder it is the perfect time for me to start getting out my usual host of cocktails I save specifically for this time of year.

Winter Jack Apple Pie

50mls Winter Jack Daniels

150mls Cloudy Apple Juice

Pinch of Ground Nutmeg

Pinch of Ground Ginger

1 Cinnamon Stick

  1. Heat up the apple juice and spices in a saucepan until boiling.
  2. Simmer for a couple of minutes
  3. Put the Winter Jack in a cup or heat resistant glass.
  4. Add the hot apple juice and stir.
  5. Enjoy!

I actually detest Jack Daniels but the Winter Jack tastes like apple pie in a glass. Hubby and I discovered it last year at the Christmas Markets in Vienna, when we came home it was the first thing we bought so we could make it ourselves.

fullsizeoutput_1e1e

fullsizeoutput_1e1f
We got these boot cups in Vienna last Christmas.  Aren’t the cute?

Frozen Pomegranate Margarita

50mls Tequila

25mls Triple Sec

50mls Pomegranate Juice

  1. Put crushed ice and all the ingredients into a blender.
  2. Blend until smooth and looks like a Slush Puppy (Adults only!)
  3. Pour into a glass.
  4. Enjoy

Alternatively if you would prefer a traditional Margarita:

  1. Fill a cocktail shaker with ice.
  2. Add all the ingredients and shake well.
  3. Pour some salt onto a flat plate.
  4. Wet the edge of the glass (I use a lime or orange wedge for this) and dip into the salt.
  5. Strain into a glass.
  6. Enjoy!

You can’t line the glass with salt if you make a frozen margarita because salt melts ice…. It’s a science this cocktail malarkey!

fullsizeoutput_1e1d
So yummy!
fullsizeoutput_1e1c
Have you noticed my pine cones?

Mulled Wine

1 Bottle of Red Wine

1 Orange

1 Cinnamon Stick

Star Anise

Ground Nutmeg

Ground Ginger

  1. Add everything to a saucepan and slowly bring to a simmer.
  2. Serve once hot enough, this makes 3 servings.
  3. Enjoy

I haven’t added exact amounts of spices as it hugely depends on your personal taste. I don’t add cloves to my Mulled Wine, even though it is traditional to do so, because I really don’t like them and find them an over powering flavour.

fullsizeoutput_1e1b
Look more pine cones!
fullsizeoutput_1e19
And check out that reindeer.. He’s my new favourite decoration!

Snowball

25mls Vanilla Vodka

25mls Advocat

100mls Lemonade

  1. Fill a glass with ice
  2. Add all the ingredients
  3. Stir well
  4. Enjoy!
snowball-cocktail
Image from goodtoknow.co.uk I figured I had drunk enough by this point (I may have had more than one margarita)

All of these serve 1 with the exception of the Mulled Wine.

Didn’t I do well not to add a gin one in?!

The Pramshed
Keep Calm and Carry On Linking Sunday
Pink Pear Bear
One Messy Mama
Cuddle Fairy

Published by

Winnettes

A Mummy to Ellie (4) and Trixie (2), blogging about Family, our Lifestyle & Baking. I am completely Pinterest and Instagram obsessed. Currently finding my feet as a new school mum and staying alive courtesy of coffee.

37 thoughts on “Winter Cocktails”

  1. ewww im loving the sound of the frozen margarita. we have an ice crusher as i used to love cocktail making. become lazy though and it’s quicker to just pour a wine now haha! #KCACOLS

    Like

  2. I am completely on board with alcoholic recipes! I’ll definitely be pinning this to my personal board as well as the #kcacols one! I actually hate Jack Daniels too but you’ve sold me on trying that recipe. Snowballs make me feel a bit queasy too but only because I think they’re usually made with 100-year-old Advocat, which I’m pretty sure doesn’t age the same as whiskey. Thanks so much for linking up at #KCACOLS. Hope you come back again next Sunday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I recommend the JD one highly, it is nothing like normal JD. No I’m not sure Advocat ages the same but I think the bottle my mother in law has is about to see its fourth Christmas! Alcohol kills bacteria doesn’t it? X

      Liked by 1 person

  3. With all those cocktails you’ve been drinking I’m amazed you managed to do this post at all!! Lol. These all look amazing. Any of them could replace your 70s snowball. I haven’t had ears of those for donkeys haha. I’m actually quite partial to a bit of JD. Haven’t had it in ages though so need to dig through the cupboards and dust it off.

    P.s Yes I noticed the pine cones!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Mmmmm winter jack apple pie sounds delicious! I love making Christmas drinks so this is really good inspiration! I just tried mulled wine for the first time and it is amazing, almost like Christmas in my mouth. Thanks for sharing with #GlobalBlogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Mulled wine is brilliant! I was so reluctant to try it at first many years ago, now I make hubby trawl the town with me to try and find some, then inevitably just go home and make it myself!

      Like

  5. Yummmmmm. Although I had my Christmas party last night so the thought of alcohol right now is making my stomach turn a bit lol. But the mulled wine sounds like something I could probably drink right now, easy on the stomach and a nice Christmassy taste ; ). Thanks for sharing with #GlobalBlogging!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

